Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Persons wanting to purchase a handgun (including BB gun) or handgun frame must apply for a Permit to Purchase a Handgun and must be 21 years old.
Show All Answers
Yes. If you are not a citizen of the United States, you may still apply for an ID card or permit to purchase a handgun.
If you live outside of New Jersey and want a Firearms ID card, you may apply at your closest New Jersey State Police barracks. You may not apply for a permit to purchase a handgun in New Jersey. If you have dual-residence, refer to where you pay income tax and/or vote as your home state.
In New Jersey, you may borrow a gun for hunting from the owner of that weapon for a period of no more than eight consecutive hours in a twenty-four hour period; however, you must not be restricted by any of the requirements that would prohibit you from purchasing a weapon yourself, and the weapon's owner must remain in close proximity to you and the weapon at all times.
If you reside in New Jersey, you must apply to the municipal police department where you reside. If the municipality where you reside is serviced by the New Jersey State Police, you must apply at the barracks which covers your municipality. Out of state residents must apply to the New Jersey Police barracks nearest to their geographic location. Armored car employees must apply to the New Jersey State Police, regardless of where they reside. New Jersey does not have laws which allow individuals with valid carry permits from other states to carry a handgun in New Jersey.
You may not purchase any weapons from any person or shop outside of New Jersey. If you desire a weapon for sale out of state, that weapon would have to be transferred or sold to a federally licensed dealer in New Jersey for you to then purchase from them.
Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:58-3j, a firearm purchaser identification card and/or handgun purchase permit shall not be required for the passing of a firearm upon the death of another thereof to his/her heir or legatee, whether the same be by testamentary bequest or by the laws of intestacy. The person who shall so receive, or acquire said firearm shall, however, be subject to all other provisions of this chapter.
If the heir or legatee of such firearm does not qualify to possess or carry it, he may retain ownership of the firearm for the purpose of sale for a period not exceeding 180 days, or for such further limited period as may be approved by the chief law enforcement officer of the municipality in which the heir or legatee resides or the superintendent, provided that such firearm is in the custody of the chief law enforcement officer of the municipality or the superintendent during such period.
Assault weapons, as defined in N.J.S.A. 2C:39-1w, are prohibited in New Jersey at all times. You must apply to your County Prosecutor’s Office for a permit to obtain assault weapons. For more information on what an assault weapon is, you may call or email the firearms investigator, check the New Jersey State Police website, or review the aforementioned statute available online.
High-capacity magazines are illegal unless there is a permanent block welded or similar to comply with the law. High-capacity is a magazine that holds 16 or more rounds.
Persons wanting to purchase rifles (including black powder, BB and pellet) and shotguns must show a valid Firearms Purchaser Identification card plus one additional form of photo identification and complete a Certificate of Eligibility. The information contained on the Firearms Purchaser Identification card must match the identification of the transferor. A Certificate of Eligibility can be obtained at any licensed firearms dealer, or the NJSP website.
You may purchase weapons at any federally or state licensed gun shop within New Jersey or any private citizen.